Banish the Unofficial Luggage of Foster Care

Metaxas' Bonhoeffer 2011 Christian Book of the Year

World News Service | Friday, May 6, 2011

Metaxas' Bonhoeffer 2011 Christian Book of the Year

(WNS)—Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy, Eric Metaxas’ powerful biography of the German theologian executed in April 1945 for his role in a plot to assassinate Adolf Hitler, has been named by the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) as not only its 2011 Christian Book of the Year, but its Non-Fiction Book of the Year.

The announcement marks the third consecutive Christian Book of the Year Award for Nashville-based Thomas Nelson Publishers.

“Nothing could make us prouder at Nelson than the success of Bonhoeffer,” said Joel Miller, Vice President of Acquisitions and Editorial for Nelson’s Nonfiction Trade Group. “Eric Metaxas presents a figure who speaks both to our times and to our spirits. It’s been an honor to work with him and a joy to see such a wide and eager reception of his important work.”

Called a “biography of uncommon power,” Bonhoeffer has appeared on several bestseller lists, including the ECPA Top 50 and the New York Times lists (six separate appearances); and has been featured in the Washington Post, WORLD, Publishers Weekly, NPR, FoxNews, the Wall St. Journal, C-SPAN, Harpers, and more.

Published in March of 2010, its impact and status as a classic is already widely-recognized, having made six “Best of 2010” lists, including Barnes & Noble, Kirkus Reviews, Relevant and, among others.

The other 2011 Christian Book Award Winners are:

Bibles: HCSB Study Bible, Jeremy Royal Howard and Ed Blum, General Editors (B&H Publishing Group)

Bible Reference: Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary: Old Testament,  John H. Walton, General Editor (Zondervan)

Children: The Action Bible, Sergio Cariello, Illustrator; Doug Mauss, General Editor (David C Cook)

Fiction: Almost Heaven, Chris Fabry (Tyndale House Publishers)

Inspiration: You Changed My Life, Max Lucado (Thomas Nelson)

Non-Fiction category winner and Christian Book of the Year: Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy, Eric Metaxas (Thomas Nelson)

Publication date: May 6, 2011

Metaxas' Bonhoeffer 2011 Christian Book of the Year